Snowshoes and nature with meal

Length:
approximately 4h00-4h30

Package with meal (15 people and more)

Available from December to mid-March. Upon reservation only.

STROLL IN THE FOREST

With a guide wearing the traditional apparel.

A guide accompanies the visitors on snowshoes in the forest to initiate them to the natural environment that surrounds them.

Since this is an outdoor physical activity, we recommend that you wear warm clothing depending on the weather and that you bring along extra clothes.

Guided tour

With a guide wearing the traditional apparel.

Visit of the Yänonhchia’, the long house, where is showed the traditional way of life and the social organisation at the Europeans arrival. Techniques of food preservation (smoker and dryer for the meat). Reminder of means of transportations of the old time. Initiation to the spiritual life of the Huron people. Sweat lodge and medicine of our ancestors. Giant tipi, discovery of the different First Nations and actual situation of the Huron-Wendat people.

TRADITIONAL MEAL – BISON SAUSAGES

Presentation of the menu (NEK8ARRE ritual)

  • Traditional soup of the day and bannock (Native bread)
  • Maple flavoured bison sausages served with wild and white rice accompanied by seasonal vegetables.
  • Home style cake served with a savoury maple sauce.
  • Wild tea

MEDICINE WHEEL MAKING

Made of deer leather and goose and pheasant feathers, the medicine wheel is used to chase away illness. The cross represents the four cardinal points and intends to protect each and every home around the world. The caribou bones are symbol of luck.

TALES AND LEGENDS

According to ancient believes the people who had knowledge had to transmit it to the younger generations within the Nation. This is where many legends come from. These tales and legends are shared with our visitors, such as the ones about the Creation of the world, the Monstrous Bear, the Discovery of Fire and the Gift from the Great Spirit. Visitors leave enchanted !

Raquette et nature avec repas

Durée:
environ 4h00-4h30

Forfaits avec repas (minimum de 15 personnes)

Disponible de décembre à la mi-mars. Sous réservation seulement.

PROMENADE EN FORÊT

Un guide amérindien accompagne les visiteurs en raquettes à neige dans la forêt.

Puisqu’il s’agit d’une activité physique à l’extérieur, nous vous recommandons de porter des vêtements chauds, selon la température et d’emporter des vêtements de rechange.

VISITE GUIDÉE

Accompagnée d’un guide vêtu du costume traditionnel.

Visite de la Yänonhchia’, la maison longue, exposé sur le mode de vie traditionnel et l’organisation sociale à l’arrivée des Européens. Méthodes de conservation de la nourriture (fumoir et séchoir à viande). Rappel des moyens de transport de l’époque. Initiation à la vie spirituelle du peuple huron. Hutte de sudation et médecine de nos ancêtres. Tipi géant, découverte des différentes nations et situation actuelle des Hurons-Wendat.

REPAS TRADITIONNEL – SAUCISSES DE BISON

– Soupe traditionnelle du jour et banique (pain amérindien).
– Saucisses de bison à l’érable servies sur riz sauvage et blanc accompagnées de légumes de saison.
– Gâteau maison nappé d’une délicieuse sauce à l’érable.
– Infusion sauvage.

FABRICATION D’UNE ROUE DE LA MÉDECINE

Faite de cuir de chevreuil, de plumes de faisan et d’oie, la roue de médecine est utilisée pour éloigner la maladie. La croix représente les quatre points cardinaux et les os de caribou symbolisent la chance. Chaque membre d’un foyer peut ajouter à la roue de médecine un objet personnel.

CONTES ET LÉGENDES

Selon les anciennes croyances amérindiennes, les personnes qui possédaient le plus de connaissances devaient transmettre leur savoir aux plus jeunes de la nation. De là proviennent de nombreuses légendes qu’un conteur partage avec les visiteurs, comme celles de la création du monde, de l’ours monstrueux, de la découverte du feu et du don du grand esprit. Nos visiteurs repartent envoûtés !