Rabaska

Length:
approximately 3h30

RABASKA RIDE – GUIDED TOUR – TRADITIONAL MEAL

 Available from May 30th to September 30th, upon reservation only.

RABASKA RIDE

A guide accompanies the visitors on a canoe ride on the KABIR KOUBA river. The quay of arrival is located on the Traditional Huron Site. The guide will tell the visitors the legend of the big snake KABIR KOUBA.

We recommend that you wear clothes that are suitable for the weather, and that you bring along extra clothes and shoes. The Huron Traditional Site is not responsible for lost or damaged items during this activity. A sealed waterproof bag can be rented at your expense to protect your belongings if you wish.

GUIDED TOUR

Including a tour guide wearing traditional apparel.

Visit of theYänonhchia’, the long house, where is showed the traditional way of life and the social organisation at the Europeans arrival. Techniques of food preservation (smoker and dryer for the meat). Reminder of means of transportations of the old time. Initiation to the spiritual life of the Huron people. Sweat lodge and medicine of our ancestors. Giant tipi, discovery of the different First Nations and actual situation of the Huron-Wendat people.

TRADITIONAL MEAL

Presentation of the menu (NEK8ARRE ritual)

  • Terrine (game meat)
  • Traditional soup of the day and banique (Native bread).
  • Tender red deer cubes bourguignon, accompanied with wild and white rice and seasonal vegetable.
  • Home style cake served with a savoury maple sauce.
  • Wild tea.

Rabaska

Durée:
environ 3h30

BALADE EN RABASKA – VISITE GUIDÉE – REPAS TRADITIONNEL

Disponible du 30 mai au 30 septembre. Sous réservation seulement.

BALADE EN RABASKA

Un guide accompagne les visiteurs en rabaska sur la rivière Kabir Kouba. Pendant la balade, le guide raconte la légende du grand serpent Kabir Kouba. Une courte promenade en forêt complète la balade afin de se rendre au Site Traditionnel Huron.

Nous vous recommandons de porter des vêtements adaptés à la température, et d’emporter des vêtements et chaussures de rechange. Le Site Traditionnel Huron n’est pas responsable des objets perdus ou abîmés lors de cette activité. Un sac imperméable scellé peut être loué à vos frais pour protéger vos effets personnels si vous le désirez.

VISITE GUIDÉE

Accompagnée d’un guide vêtu du costume traditionnel.

Visite de la Yänonhchia’, la maison longue, exposé sur le mode de vie traditionnel et l’organisation sociale à l’arrivée des Européens. Méthodes de conservation de la nourriture (fumoir et séchoir à viande). Rappel des moyens de transport de l’époque. Initiation à la vie spirituelle du peuple huron. Hutte de sudation et médecine de nos ancêtres. Tipi géant, découverte des différentes nations et situation actuelle des Hurons-Wendat.

REPAS TRADITIONNEL (SCONOTON EN SAUCE)

Présentation du menu par un guide amérindien (rituel du Nek8arre)

  • Soupe traditionnelle du jour et banique (pain amérindien)
  • Terrine de gibier étagée
  • Sconoton en sauce
    Tendres cubes de viande de cerf rouge cuits à la bourguignonne accompagnés de riz sauvage et blanc et de légumes de saison.
  • Gâteau maison nappé d’une délicieuse sauce à l’érable.
  • Infusion sauvage.